Spell check, anyone?

Why, for the love of all things pure and holy, can my computer’s spell-check function NOT spell “connoisseur” correctly on the first try? Why do Office Word and Outlook programs have no difficulty whipping my other words into shape when I get to typing too quickly, but not THAT word?

conossieur
connoseur
connosseiur
connoiseriouslyalready

It’s fine. I didn’t want to use that word anyway. Besides, who regularly uses that word? Probably someone who’s a connowhatever of words.

[Note: User error, say what?]

2 thoughts on “Spell check, anyone?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Oh, that spell check! I have a love-hate relationship with it. Sadly, I depend on it now more than ever—I type away, make a mistake and think “spell check will fix it”. So basically, it is facilitating my poor spelling. However, without it I would sound like a moron.

    My biggest beef is that it does NOT correct my frequent usage of “you” in place of “your”.

    You friendly neighbourhood spell check junky (see it did not fix it again).

  2. Jill A. Duling says:

    I see it doesn’t fix the Canadian lilt either.

Leave a Reply

