Driving in the elements

Yesterday, while reminding me that a winter storm was approaching the area, my boyfriend said, “Remember, if the weather starts to get bad, leave work and go home. You can always work from home.”

“Don’t worry,” I replied. “I will.” Knowing better, he countered with “Are you sure you aren’t just placating me and telling me that you’ll go home but you really have no intention of going home no matter how bad the weather is?”

Uh, maybe. That perceptive guy.

I began to think about winter storms of my childhood, the ones that caused school delays and cancellations. What did we do on those days away from the classroom? We never slept in, and we almost always piled into the Chevy Suburban and drove into town. Fog. Snow. Ice. You name the weather system; we drove in it and through it, sometimes making our own paths when the ones made by snowplows had filled in. Mom would always say, “What better way to spend a free day than doing a little shopping?”

Those emergency warnings and snow levels broadcast on every television and radio station? Just precautionary measures. “We’ll be cautious; we’ll be fine; and we’ll be back before your dad is home from work,” we’d hear.

Worked for us.

On one occasion, we slipped and slid our way into Lima only to find out that everything was closed, even the shopping mall! Something about the weather being really bad and the employees being sent home for their safety. Strange.

On another snowy afternoon, shortly after I’d received my driver’s license, Mom and I headed for Findlay in my 1991 Buick LaSabre*. I made it a tenth of the mile down the road, took a left turn and slid off the road—my bumper gently kissing a hidden-electrical-wire pole. I put the car in reverse and backed out of the ditch, turned to Mom and said, “So, still up for shopping?”

“Of course!” she replied.

And off we went. That time and many, many other times before and since.

So, one might deduce that I never really allow the weather to keep me from getting from point A to point B. Fog? Snow? Ice? No problem. And, yes, I can be a touch stubborn about it.

Blame my mother. She taught me the importance of never allowing the weather to keep me from attaining new clothes for my wardrobe.

*Car model doesn’t really hold any significance other than that car was the BEST car ever.

One thought on “Driving in the elements

  1. Anonymous says:

    Although I never meant to tempt God, I did ask for His protection before we left home. Otherwise we would never had made it. Isn’t Jesus good? MOM

Leave a Reply

