Sugar’s sweetness sours

Did you know that the average woman consumes 31 teaspoons of sugar each day? Thirty-one teaspoons. That’s nearly two-thirds of a cup or 124 grams. Nutritionists cited in SHAPE magazine say women should be taking in no more than nine teaspoons (or 36 grams) a day.

Darn my attraction to fitness magazines that alert me to all the unhealthy things I do to my body!

While, I’m tempted to wave this factoid off and reason with myself, “See, I knew I was naturally a sweet person,” I, unfortunately, know better, and I suspect my body would appreciate me a little more if I made a little more of a concerted effort to appreciate it.

Thirty-one teaspoons of sugar is a lot.

My Fiber One cereal bars that I love dearly? Nine grams of sugar per bar.
My Quaker Oatmeal Squares cereal that I also love dearly? Ten grams of sugar per serving.
Dannon vanilla yogurt? Fifteen grams.
Hot chocolate mix made with water? Nineteen grams. Made with milk? THIRTY-ONE GRAMS!

This is horrible news! One steaming hot mug of cocoa, made with pre-packaged mix, puts me five grams away from the daily recommended sugar intake. Woe is me.

And woe are a lot of women (and men) who aren’t paying much attention to what they put into their mouths. It turns out that if we drop our sugar intake to something much closer to what our body really needs, we can drop 25 pounds of body weight in one year.

Twenty-five pounds. By simply reducing the amount of sugar we swallow.*

Interested in learning ways to cut from your diet the not-so-great-for-you sugar and replace it with the really-good-for-you sugar? Check out SHAPE magazine’s article “How Sugar Packs on Pounds.”

And, good luck!

* Note: “Simply” is easy to say, harder to do. But, well worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

