A text message from Mom

cm_textalerts1My mom is not a text messager. She does not text message. Text messages mean nothing to her.

Today, I got a text message from Mom: “FWD: FWD: FWD: Do not go to any walmart tonight. Gang initiation to shoot 3 women tonight. Not sure which walmart. And confirmed on tv. Send to all girls in your phone.” (sic)

I looked at the phone number that sent the text and thought, “What?! Mom sent this to me?” I then thought: (a) Mom just sent me a text; (b) Mom NEVER sends texts; (c) I wonder who explained to Mom how to send this text; (d) It’s not just a text, it’s a forwarded text; and (e) Who explained to Mom how to forward a text? Never mind the perilous danger I could be in. Mom sent a text!

So, I called Mom, who explained her sister’s daughter had sent her sister the text message, and my aunt then forwarded it onto Mom who felt it her duty to send it to the women in her cell phone but then decided that might be too many women, so she sent it to her daughter and one daughter-in-law.

“Well, Mom,” I said, wondering simultaneously if she knew her other daughters-in-law had Wal-Marts near them, “Erica and I appreciate you keeping us from being shot at tonight.” Mom couldn’t give me any other details about what my cousin had heard, so I called #1 News Source, who did some investigating and turned up a news report, which you can read here.

Apparently, police officials have been working overtime to quash the latest rumors of supposed gang initiations at big-box stores like Wal-Mart and Target. These rumors have been floating about the Internet since 2005.

I called Mom back to report my findings. She laughed a bit and then told me about the escapades of one of my nephews who is staying with her and dad for a few days. As I said my good-byes, Mom says, “Have yourself a good evening. Oh, and you should stay away from Wal-Mart anyway. Just in case.”

“No worries, Mom. I’m heading to Meijer.” I can report I did NOT get shot at while walking around Meijer.

Whew.

Tagged

One thought on “A text message from Mom

  1. Mom says:

    When I text messaged you, I thought it meant around Ohio where my other daughters-in-law are not. Just in case they read your blog: I love all my daughters-in-law equally. They are the tops!!

Leave a Reply

