Alma mater pride

ufOK, so I’ve never really had a sense of alma mater pride.

I graduated from the University of Findlay in 2003. After four years of blood, sweat, tears, volleyball, academics and extracurriculars, I was glad to be done. However, I stayed on as a graduate assistant for an extra year, working sporting events. And, I have to confess that unlike my years of volleyball, I was OK with wins or losses just so long as I was out of the gym in the shortest amount of time possible.

So, it’s been a wee bit of a surprise to find myself following along with the Oilers on their quest to become NCAA D2 National Champions in men’s basketball for the first time in school history.

I listened to the regional and quaterfinal championship games on the radio. My boyfriend sent me text updates during the semifinals. And, I watched the national championship game live on CBS. While in Canada.

Talk about resurrecting a sense of pride.

Yesterday, it truly was a great day to be an Oiler as Findlay defeated Cal Poly Pomona in overtime, 56-53, becoming the first school in NCAA D2 history to finish a season with 36 wins and 0 losses.

Nice work, guys! And thanks for making me once again proud to wear orange and black.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

