The clichéd skinny on skinny jeans

skinnyjeans1I can’t believe I’m even admitting this, especially after my last post about eating at restaurants day in and day out, but I purchased my first pair of skinny jeans. That’s right, the slim-fit pants that I spent a long, long, long, long time looking down on and making fun of. I own them.

Also commonly known as drainpipes, stovepipes, cigarette pants, pencil pants, skinny pants or skinnies, skinny jeans have been around for years. They’ve clung to the legs of Marilyn Monroe, Sandra Dee, Audrey Hepburn and members of The Beatles and Rolling Stones. The 1980s were especially good to the trendy slacks as heavy and not-so-heavy metal bands jumped around on stage in them, making them look as comfortable and easy-to-move-in as sweatpants. Almost 30 years later, fashion model Kate Moss is still making them look way cool, while clothier H&M had made them a must-have on every fashionista’s list.

The problem I ran into that kept me running away from trying on skinny jeans? They look a lot like leggings, and I detest leggings. Except on five-year-olds. Five-year-olds can totally pull off leggings. But, I digress. Plus, the Jonas Brothers wear them, and that’s just weird.

Recently, however, I’ve been seeing more and more women wearing skinny jeans with boots pulled up over them. It’s kinda cute. And, not all of the women sporting skinny jeans look as though their bottoms are painted on. Double bonus.

So, I ordered a pair online from Gap. And, I had a most pleasant surprise when I tried them on. They didn’t look too bad. And, they didn’t feel overly fitted. Or remind me of leggings. I daresay that I verbalized right then and there that I actually really, really liked them.

Funny how that works.

“No way, Jose, will I ever do/wear/buy/etc.…” Famous last words.

10 thoughts on “The clichéd skinny on skinny jeans

  1. mom says:

    Oh, since we are told we look so much alike, I’m going to run out and get my first pair of skinny jeans. I know I’ll look just like you, butt and all.

  2. dramafreedigestion says:

    Ladies… honestly. Eat another taco or two and implant a Kardashian butt and then give me a call!

  3. Liz says:

    And what, might I ask, is wrong with leggings? 😉

  4. jilladuling says:

    Ha. I knew your comment was coming, Liz! Ever since I saw someone rock out leggings with a blouson-y sweatshirt, I’ve been adverse.

    You, however, totally make them work. I applaud you!

    • Liz says:

      Ha, thanks! You totally rocked the skinny jeans, by the way. I might even have to try a pair on during my next shopping trip.

  5. Joshua says:

    I ordered some jeans online recently and when they arrived, it turned out that they were pencil pants. Apparently the store I normally order from has changed their sizing charts just a bit. Or, I’ve become obese.

    • jilladuling says:

      Hhhmmm. I’m against guys in pencil pants. Sorry. And, it’s been a long time since I saw you, but I doubt you’re adding to the country’s obesity epidemic.

  6. Lisa Mann says:

    so, where is the photo of Mrs Jill in them? Im glad you “skinny” can pull them off…i on the other hand am tall yet a bit meaty and cannot. So, more power to you!

    • jilladuling says:

      Oh, please, Lisa! We’re the same height. You could rock them, too. No photos, sorry. Maybe one day. If I’m brave.

  7. gigi says:

    Just now read the blog! Where have I been? One question. That photo in the middle–your legs, right?

Leave a Reply

