Cleaning up your diet

issue10I picked up the November/December issue of Clean Eating magazine a few days ago and spent yesterday trying out some recipes: Coco Cran Nut Muffins and Sausage & Vegetable Farro Soup, to name a few.

If you’re not familiar with the idea of clean eating, it basically involves consuming food in its most natural state, or as close to it as possible. It’s not so much a diet as it is a lifestyle approach to food and its preparation. You can read more about clean eating here.

No, I am not vegan. No, I am not vegetarian. Yes, I love eating food. All kinds of food. Please read on.

I first learned about clean eating in an issue of Oxygen magazine. I love that magazine! It’s for women who are hooked on physical activity, particularly gym rats, and it caters to a wide range of athletic prowess—from newbies to veterans. It’s always chock-full of fitness and diet advice. The diet advice adheres to clean eating.

Now, I’ve always been active. But, it’s only been recently that I’ve put more thought into what I feed my body. Did you know that about 80 percent of your body makeup is based on the food you consume? It turns out that you really are what you eat. So, if I’m going to work hard to create/maintain lean muscle mass, I might as well work just as hard to feed my body the right kinds of food.

Except, clean eating isn’t really that hard. And, thankfully, I’ve always preferred to eat food that’s good for me, so the whole concept isn’t terribly far-fetched, even if some of the clean-eating principles are:

Eat five to six meals a day.
Drink at least two liters of water a day.
Get label savvy and select foods that have one or two ingredients.
Avoid processed and refined foods.
Avoid saturated/trans fats and a lot of sugar.
Consume humanely raised and local meats.
Consume healthy fats, like essential fatty acids.
Learn about portion sizes and stick to them.
Reduce your carbon footprint.
Indulge in red wine on rare occasions.
Slow down and savor meals.
Pack a cooler for work to always have clean food readily available.
Make food a healthful, family affair.

I’ve underlined the principles I’m pretty good at or am working on. It turns out that I am not terribly concerned about how the meat I choose to eat was raised in a former life. That does not mean I think individuals should act inhumanely toward their livestock. And, I am not overly concerned with my carbon footprint. I believe Al Gore is worrying enough for the entire globe. While he flies about in his private jet.

And, while I mostly stick to most of these principles most of the time, eating is not a religion. I have treats. And, I love chocolate. The non-healthy sort of chocolate found on doughnuts and in ice cream. It’s all about checks and balances.

Anyway, for me, clean eating makes good sense. Give it a try. Who knows? You might surprise your taste buds. And your waistline.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Cleaning up your diet

  1. Brianna Patterson says:

    I’ve read a few issues of Clean Eating but haven’t yet tried any recipes. You’re encouraging me, though, to do so! It’s amazing what good food will do to your body, isn’t it? God really did put everything on earth that we need to keep ourselves healthy and heal our earthly bodies!

  2. I understand the idea you’re trying to establish but you should try and watch out were the meat you’re consuming comes from. Just in case I am a vegetarian, but my family is not, nor is my girlfriend. I love to cook and I do cook meats for my family even if i don’t taste them, and I always try to select the best meats when I buy them. Do you know that many of the meats in supermarkets comes from sick animals or that cancerous filled meats are mix in with healthy meat as in the case of groud beef. I don’t want to preach, but the fact is that the way the animals are treated in their respected farms does affect what we put on our tables.

Leave a Reply

