Family photos are a laughing matter, Part 9

Oh, to take that hairdo back!

Sometimes you look back at family photos and think, really? Really? Other times you look back and think, WHAT THE HECK? The latter is kinda what I think when I look at this photo. As in WHAT THE HECK did I do to my hair? And WHAT THE HECK is going on with my bib dress?

In defense of the horrible, horrible hairstyle, I always wanted curly hair. You know the sort. Beautiful, bouncy waves. My mother gave me my first perm. It didn’t turn out exactly as I had imagined it in my head. That time or the 10 times that followed. All I ever got was frizz. Frizz, frizz and more frizz. No one could explain to me that people with naturally curly hair (or those with paid hairstylists on staff) had a far better chance of making and keeping beautiful, bouncy waves. Perhaps it did not help that I favored using a brush versus a pick. Either way? BAD. It took me many, many years to understand that fine hair and perms—at home OR in the salon—do NOT go well together. Even if I spent much of my childhood as a frizzy poodle, I NOW know. And, knowledge is power, right?

Interestingly, I look eerily like my mother in that photo. Curious. Curious and eerie.

Regarding the dress, that dress was a FAVORITE. Favorite! I wore it for picture day at school and every Sunday for church. Or at least every Sunday I could without looking like I only had one Sunday dress. Not that there’s anything wrong with having one Sunday dress. I remember feeling quite lovely in it. I can only think that bibs were in style back then. Or hope.

Anyway, this photo was taken on some random Sunday in my childhood, around Grade 3 or 4. We’re one happy-looking family, yes? OK, then.

Let’s all just focus on how adorable my baby brother is. I know you almost want to pinch his cheeks!

6 thoughts on “Family photos are a laughing matter, Part 9

  1. Jason says:

    …oh the memories! that picture was taken just before authorities rushed the compound and those cute children were all detained with CPS. that cute little child with the adorable “gotta-pinch cheeks” has never been the same…oh the memories!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I had to look twice, no, three times, to figure out which was mother and which was daughter!

  3. Annete says:

    Jill: I believe that picture was taken at grandma and grandpa Duling’s 50th wedding anniversary in glandorf. I also had frizz hair and a very unique dress. Hope all is well. Im off to read about your cell adventure. Take Care, Net S. PS look how happy that dress made you.

  4. Joshua says:

    Annete is right. That is Grandpa and Grandma Duling’s 50th wedding anniversary. I clearly remember your dress spooking the horse during Grandma’s carriage ride.

    • jilladuling says:

      Shoot! I just now realized that Glandorf Lumber is in the background. You are ALL correct. Ha. Oh well. I loved that dress. Sigh.

  5. Mom says:

    Your look eerily like your mother? You were so pretty in that photo. Agree with 50th. One older gent, at the celebration, told me I did not look old enough to have children as old as y’all. It was probably the ponytail 🙂

Leave a Reply

