Family photos are a laughing matter, Part 10

I could still rock culottes. If I wanted to.

I thought I’d send January 2010 out with a bam. BAM! FAMILY PHOTO BLAST FROM THE PAST! This photo is of the ENTIRE family in 1991. When I say, ENTIRE, I mean my parents, my brothers AND Dad’s 1981 Chevy Silverado pick-up truck with cap. It was awesome, and Dad was quite partial to it. My brothers and I used to ask to ride in the back all the time. We were granted those requests until the state decided it wasn’t safe for individuals to ride in the backs of trucks. Dogs only.

I also distinctly remember the truck cab being chock-full of Tootsie Roll Pops. And having a very scratchy, but attractively striped, seat cover.

Oh, the memories! Unfortunately, all good things come to an end, and Dad no longer has the truck. But, he does have a framed photo of his “grey beauty” sitting on his desk.

Here are some other things I remember about 1991:

  • I turned 10.
  • My eldest brother graduated from high school.
  • I was only two years away from never having to wear culottes again (think knee-length, or longer, divided skirt).
  • While horsing around on a rope swing hanging atop a rusted-out chair, I gave my right leg an attractive 6” cut, whose scar I still bear today.
  • I did not get to sit out of gym class activities even though I had almost chopped my leg off.
  • I could not hide my partially chopped-off leg under culottes, but my knee socks came through for me.
  • I survived Grade 4, my least favorite of all my grade school years.

OK, so, I’ll cut my memories off at that point, as 1991 does not appear to be my most favorite year on record. However, it was still a pretty-much OK year. After all, I also learned to crochet that year. That’s right, friends. Crochet. 

The end.

[Added after initial post: My mother reminds me that 1991 was also the year my family ventured from Ohio to the western states and, specifically, the Grand Canyon. In a Chevy Suburban. In a week and a half. Now that I think about it, this, too, was a highly memorable occasion. But that’s a whole ‘nother post.]

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Family photos are a laughing matter, Part 10

  1. Mom says:

    you may have learned to crochet in 1991 but I know your very favorite was the ole cross stitch. Only took you 5-10 years to get a bear done. Ahh culottes and knee socks. I admit the knee socks might have been a bit much but oh the culottes; so cute!!! I think 1991 was the year for our family vacation behind the tinted windows but, well, that’s another story. ;-o

  2. Jason says:

    1991 also saw a trip to Mounds State Park in Anderson, IN. It was one of the few camping trips I recall in which one of the siblings (I’m not going to mention which in order to protect Jill) didn’t have to be carried on the trails…but THAT is another blog…

  3. Mary Steiner says:

    I like the bangs. Lovely.

  4. Lara says:

    i too ventured out of Ohio in the back of a pickup! all the way to washington state!

Leave a Reply

