A furry, dressed-up Valentine’s Day

I really don’t have strong feelings for or against the celebration of Valentine’s Day. I’ve always thought of it as a Hallmark holiday, created solely by retailers in the hopes of snookering members of society into buying things to prove their undying love for their significant other. That being said, I’ve never turned down flowers or chocolates.

I do, however, have strong feelings about the television commercial for Vermont Teddy Bear Company and its Bear-Gram® service that is airing every other 30 seconds and will likely increase in intensity (if that’s even possible) as February 14 nears.

The commercial shows a good-looking package-delivery man (Is there any other kind?) dropping off Bear-Grams to beautiful women in an office setting and at their homes. The women are blown away by the surprise of receiving a packaged stuffed bear dressed specifically for her. It’s like each of their significant others knew exactly what each woman desired most on Valentine’s Day, the most hallowed day of love: a dressed-up stuffed animal.

Here is a sampling of the Bear-Grams being opened:

Huggable Hunk Bear

Heart Throb Bear

Sweetheart Teddy Bear

Horny Devil Bear

Mamacita Bear

Knight in Shining Armor Bear

Redhot Redneck Bear

The Redhot Redneck Bear. Now, that’s awesome. OK, so, maybe it’s just me, but I can’t help but think the women in this commercial are faking their extreme excitement in receiving a boxed-up teddy bear for Valentine’s Day because, well, they’re being reimbursed. Hopefully, handsomely. I suspect they are secretly thinking, “If my guy even thinks about sending me one of these, I’m going to punch him in the face.”

I’m not an advocate of punching your significant other in his/her face, but one really ought to think long and hard about whether an adult male or an adult female really wants to unwrap a stuffed animal. On any day of the year.

Unless a baby shower is involved. And even then, I’d reconsider my gift choice. But, I digress.

Here’s to a happy, bearless Valentine’s Day!

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “A furry, dressed-up Valentine’s Day

  1. Lara says:

    Agree with the face punching. Dressed up bear…how stupid. Now I’m sure to get one.

  2. Lara says:

    Whew…i did not get one!

Leave a Reply

