My favorite Olympics moment

Hey, Norway! I love your pants. Can I get a pair? I'll let you touch my gold medal.

So, after reading my last post, you’re probably thinking that I don’t have a favorite Olympics moment. Not true. I have one.

I mentioned that when we checked into the hotel in Tampa, Husband was elated to find out that the cable provider supplied NBC, CNBC and MSNBC. This was excellent, because it meant that he would be able to watch all of the events to come. Including the men’s curling final.

Imagine his shock and devastation upon tuning in to CNBC to watch curling to find an infomercial for P90X, his wife’s new favorite workout program. It was basically Tony Horton (creator of said program) at his best.

Me: Oh, this is WAY better than curling!
Husband: WHAT?! The newspaper CLEARLY says curling is supposed to be on. Why isn’t it on?!

After flipping through the television channels several times and re-consulting the newspaper and checking CNBC’s program line-up on his cell phone, Husband was at his wit’s end. IT’S SUPPOSED TO BE ON! WHY ISN’T IT ON?

Thinking that he could perhaps stream the event live via the Internet, Husband ran out of our hotel room and down to the hotel’s Business Center, which boasted four computers with free Internet access. I remained in the room, watching the P90X infomercial.

What? I love P90X, and I find the infomercial inspiring.

Anyway, after about nine minutes, the infomercial ended, and CNBC cut to the men’s curling final between Norway and Canada. I took a few moments to marvel at the bravado with which the Norwegian team sported their totally awesome pants and then spent a few moments wondering how twerked off Husband would be if he found out I was watching curling on the big screen while he was attempting to stream it live off the Internet surrounded by strangers who couldn’t figure out how to turn down their computers’ volume levels.

I didn’t wonder for long. I took the elevator downstairs, popped my head into the room and said, “Hey, it’s on TV now.” Lickety-split, we were back upstairs, sitting on the couch, leaning forward and questioning each stone’s throw.

When I say “we,” I really mean “he.” I did a crossword puzzle.

And that, friends, was my favorite Olympics moment. Watching Husband freak out about the possibility of NOT being able to watch the men’s curling final.

It’s a classic. One I’ll be sure to remember fondly in four years in Sochi.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “My favorite Olympics moment

  1. Mom says:

    So funny. Good thing husband has a sense of humor.

  2. Lara says:

    all i can say is …wow. seriously.. wow.

Leave a Reply

