I like cake

Mmmm, cake!

True story. I like cake. I’ve always liked cake. What’s not to like about cake?

However, in my efforts to be mindful of what I put into my mouth, I don’t eat a lot of cake. Nor do I make a lot of cakes, because, if I made a lot of cakes, I’d eat a lot of cakes. Wretched self-control.

Today, I’m making a cake. If you’re looking for a very simple, very tasty cake, this recipe is for you. And, if you like pudding, QUICK!, write this down, or print this off.

Thanks to my mom, who long ago introduced me to this recipe. Where she found it originally, I know not, but it’s excellent.

Stripe-It-Rich Cake

1 box of white cake mix (2-layer size)
2 pkgs. (4-serving size) chocolate-flavored instant pudding mix
1 c. confectioner’s sugar
4 c. cold milk (I use skim milk.)

Prepare cake mix as directed on box. (I substitute unsweetened applesauce for oil), baking in a 9” x 13” baking dish. Remove from oven. Using the round handle of a wooden spoon, immediately poke holes through the cake at 1” intervals.

Combine pudding mix with sugar (I’ve been known to lessen the amount of sugar because no one needs to consume one cup of sugar) in a large bowl. Gradually stir in milk. Beat at low speed of an electric mixer for not more than 1 minute.

Quickly, before the pudding thickens, pour ½ of thin pudding into the holes of the cake. Allow remaining pudding to thicken in refrigerator (3-5 minutes) and spoon over the top. Chill at least 1 hour. Store in refrigerator.

Now, this cake can be made using a variety of flavor combinations:

German-chocolate cake mix with butter pecan instant pudding mix
Chocolate-fudge cake mix with vanilla instant pudding mix
Chocolate cake mix with pistachio instant pudding mix
White cake mix with butterscotch instant pudding mix

Basically, combine whatever flavors you and your family like best. Try the sugar-free pudding mixes, too, if you like. Just make sure they’re instant mixes.

Oh, and eat in moderation. After all, it’s cake. Although, this cake makes it hard to eat in moderation. Especially for those who love pudding. And cake.

Like me.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “I like cake

  1. Joni Halker says:

    Oh boy Jill!! I am sitting here passing time until, hopefully, the rain stops and I can go jogging outside- when I come across this awesome sounding recipe! So, instead of running now, I am off to bake a cake!! 🙂

  2. debbie says:

    YUM YUM YUM, I am making this tomorrow for a cookout! thank you!

  3. jilladuling says:

    Let me know if you liked the cake!

Leave a Reply

