One year ago today

One year ago today, I took a half day at work, met my fiancé at the Municipal Building in Findlay, Ohio, signed some papers and got married.

This is us exchanging vows.

It was a covert operation. OK, not really covert. Our parents knew. Our siblings knew. My director knew. Some of our closest friends knew. It turns out I’m not amazing with secrets. Plus, it wasn’t really a secret. We were planning a civil ceremony at some point anyway because we wanted to begin my application process for legality in Canada. That day, one year ago today, fit into our schedules perfectly.

One year ago today, my friend Erin sent a bouquet of flowers and matching boutonniere to my office. My director gave me something borrowed and something blue plus a penny for my shoe. Hey, that rhymes! My mom called me one last time to ask if I was sure she couldn’t attend. Sorry, Mom. You can come to the next ceremony. Fiancé and I grabbed a bite to eat and then went to purchase our marriage license. Gal pal Lara and my then-pastor and his wife met us outside the courtroom to stand as our witnesses.

And, witness they did, perhaps the shortest wedding ceremony ever. Imagine attending an auction only instead of the auctioneer seeking the highest bidder, he’s asking you to agree to love, honor and respect the individual standing in front of you for the rest of your life.

Done and done.

We exchanged vows.

This is us kissing.

We kissed.

We were married.

It was short and sweet. And, we celebrated with Lara and ice cream at Dietsch’s. It was perfect.

This entire past year? Also perfect. Because I got to spend it with someone who is perfect for me. And, while this date isn’t particularly the date we’ll officially recognize our anniversary, it will always be one that we hold dear.

Because it’s the day that the Canadian and U.S. governments recognize as our wedding date, and I just want my permanent residency already! Seriously.

I digress.

Happy real-but-not-officially-celebrated anniversary, Husband! I love you!

Tagged

3 thoughts on “One year ago today

  1. Jason says:

    Congratulations to the both of you!

  2. Mom says:

    ditto

  3. gigi says:

    what a touching blog!! We are thrilled that husband asked and you replied “yes”. We even got to see photos! May God bless your lives together.

Leave a Reply

