Mow, mow, mow the grass

Perhaps with practice I, too, can make a yard resemble a Major League Baseball diamond.

I used a riding lawnmower to cut grass for the third time in my life yesterday.

I feel as though I really need to preface that statement with: Yes, I know how to use a riding lawnmower and, yes, I have used a walking lawnmower many a time.

But, when you have three brothers, plus a father who prefers meticulous lines, cutting grass is a chore that rarely comes your way. Thankfully, it barely ever came mine. In fact, the two previous times I mowed involved me volunteering to do so. Both were memorable occasions.

Time #1* Dad offered to let me try out his newest lawnmower, which was really more of a tractor, complete with a safety roll bar across its top backside. It was comforting to know that in the event I rolled the tractor on our flat-as-pancakes yard, I would not be entirely smooshed to death. That first time mowing was cut short when I forgot about the roll bar and drove under a cherry tree, taking out one of its limbs.

Oops.

Time #2** my family was returning from a week-long vacation, and I arrived a day ahead of them. As a surprise, I nominated a friend to help me cut the entire yard. And, boy was Dad surprised when he pulled into the drive and immediately noticed the two lawnmowers’ mowing parts were set to different heights.

Oops.

Now you know why I’ve always lived in places that required very little lawn upkeep.

Anyway, yesterday, my in-laws phoned and asked if I’d help them with some gardening and grass-cutting. Absolutely, I told them, but my grass-cutting skills aren’t the best. They assured me that they’d simply be happy to have the grass cut. No pencil-straight lines required. OK, if you say so.

After a quick tutorial, I zoomed off and zigzagged all over their yard. I’m pleased to report that I managed to drive the lawnmower without running into, over or under anything and in mostly straight lines. Hooray!

Maybe the third time really is a charm. 

*Not last year, Husband.
**Came several years after Time #1, but also did not happen last year.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Mow, mow, mow the grass

  1. Mom says:

    I think the major league baseball diamond looks as if they had two mowers at different heights also. 🙂

Leave a Reply

