A letter to my dad

Thanks, Dad. For being my dad.

Hi, Dad.

With Father’s Day approaching, I’ve been thinking long and hard about all the wonderful father-like things for which I can applaud you. And, I have to say, I’m coming up short. Not because you haven’t been a wonderful father. But because you’re not the Hallmark-greeting-card dad everyone thinks of when they think of Father’s Day.

For that, I couldn’t be more grateful.

You’ve been my dad for 29 years now. That’s a long time for you to be a dad and for me to be a daughter. For the record, I think we’ve been doing an a-OK job at both. However, I don’t think I’ve been doing such a great job of telling you how much I love and appreciate you. Or how glad I am that God chose to give me to you instead of some other random male being.

Thanks, God!

When I was home last, I found the scrapbook I created my senior year of high school. Do you remember it? I went through all of our family photo albums and removed so many pictures that any stranger who leafed through one would think you and Mom never had a daughter. Sorry, Mom. Inside the scrapbook, I found an assignment that I’d completed for Advanced Senior English, where I collected quotes from random individuals regarding advice on living life. Your advice?

“Work hard. Then work harder.”

You’ve spent your entire lifetime working. Working for your parents. Working to provide for your wife and children. Working to run a farming operation. Working to keep yourself busy. Working. Working. Working. I don’t fault you for this. You were a product of your environment, raised to work a lot and to work hard. And, I appreciate you working to provide me with opportunities that I may not have had otherwise. Thank you!

Now that you find yourself working a bit less than you’d like, and possibly contemplating retirement, I hope that you’ll take some time to at least consider the benefits of working less (like visiting me!) and simply enjoy more. Because, you’ve certainly earned it.

I hope more than anything, that on this particular Father’s Day, you know how much I love you. And, how blessed I am to have you in my life. I also hope that you have some Peanut M&Ms in the house, because there weren’t any there the last time I was home, and there are few things on this earth that are more delicious than Peanut M&Ms.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad!

Love,
Jill

P.S. I did not mail a bag of Peanut M&Ms to your house, because they surely would’ve melted by the time the Canada Post shipped them out of the country.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “A letter to my dad

  1. gmomj says:

    That is so sweet!
    Happy Father’s Day to you and your Dad.
    You are a lucky young lady!

  2. Mom says:

    Peanut m&ms were under cupboard where I wouldn’t see them every second of the day. Sorry I didn’t release them when you were here.

  3. dad says:

    thanks daughter, with all my heart, I love you.

Leave a Reply

