Patty’s coming home!

Hi! My name is Patty, and I have no neck muscles. Because, I'm a doll. And, dolls do not have neck muscles.

One time, I wrote “The Second Greatest Story Ever Told” and introduced you to Patty, a handmade, life-size doll I received from my mother when I was 5. Patty had a bit of a rough start, and, if you haven’t already, you can read about her and her birth here. Make sure you have tissues on-hand.

As of recent, my mom has been in a all-items-beyond-your-father’s-and-my-personal-effects-no-longer-have-a-place-in-our-space mood, and she’s been cleaning out boxes, closets and cupboards accordingly.

Not one thing has gone unnoticed. And, not one week goes by without me getting a text or phone call asking if want this or that or something else. No? OK, then. It’s off to Goodwill or the Salvation Army. Mostly Goodwill.

So, this weekend is the weekend I get to pick up Patty and take her to her new loving home in Canada. Part of me hopes she likes it. The other part of me hopes she doesn’t scare the small children she’s bound to encounter.

Get excited, Patty! It’s almost moving day!

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Patty’s coming home!

  1. Ex Boss lady says:

    I think she has your legs and happy nose freckles. She will love husband, I just know it. Good luck getting all her paperwork filled out and processed 🙂

    • jilladuling says:

      Great. Now I have fluffy legs? Shoot! I know Patty will be thrilled with the move. And, Mom, too. 🙂

  2. mom says:

    My granddaughter just informed me this week that she use to be deathly scared of that big red-haired doll. Since Patty has no red hair, I had no idea which other doll BUT I do have a sneaky thought that she was referring to Patty. I did not let it hurt my feelings. I think it is wonderful that you want her in Canada. The kids will love her. And so will husband!

  3. Margaret says:

    Must have been a Duling thing – mom made one of us a life sized Annie doll. She didn’t have a neck so her head stayed up quite nicely. She was pretty flat though. . . wonder what happened to Annie.

  4. gigi says:

    Welcome to Canada, Patty. I have heard neat things about you and can hardly wait to meet you personally.

Leave a Reply

