Have you hugged your sister today?

See! Sisters are good for more than just tattletaling.

In conjunction with its Flourishing Families Project, Brigham Young University recently conducted a study about siblings. Its findings indicate that having a sister is a good thing. A very good thing indeed.

This morning, my brother Joshua e-mailed me a link to the MSNBC story “Having a sister might make you a better person,” and wrote “Good news! You complete me.” And, “You are single-handedly responsible for three people who do not suffer severe depression.”

Am I ever proud!

The study found that siblings who have a sister are less likely to experience negative feelings such as loneliness, guilt, fear, self-consciousness and unlovedness. While I’m fairly certain that last one isn’t a word, I know it’s a feeling. No matter the age difference, sisters are more likely than parents to provide their brothers with feel-good feelings.

Not to be slighted, the study recognizes the positive influence of brothers, noting that having a loving sibling of either gender promotes good deeds and charitable attitudes. I think that means I have my brothers to thank for my expressions of niceness to others.

Thanks, guys! I couldn’t have done life without you. However, I do kinda hold you responsible for not taking care of the 8th-grade bully I had to deal with when I was in 2nd grade, but, really, why dwell on the past?

So much for the big “protective factor” examined in the study.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Have you hugged your sister today?

  1. Ex Boss lady says:

    So by not having siblings I am just an emotionless, cold hearted bitch who has terrible issues with guilt and fear? OK. That explains all my issues. Thanks.

    • jilladuling says:

      BYU is a Mormon school, Ex Boss Lady. They’ve never heard of families with only one child. Sorry.

  2. Jason says:

    8th-grade bully in 2nd grade?? We’re going to need a name/address on this one. It’s NEVER to late to tell someone how you really feel! I’ll get Josh and Justin, and we’ll pose as your freindly neighborhood welcome committee!

Leave a Reply

