One bag only; must fit entire life

Traveling with one pair of shoes? For 12 days? The horrors! (Photo by Özgür Donmaz)

Here are the facts:

  • You’re traveling for 12 days.
  • The weather will be warm, cool, hot, cold or rainy.
  • You will be walking everywhere and nonstop.
  • You’re allowed one suitcase that’s roughly the size of a carry-on. Maybe a little bit larger.
  • You have to fit EVERYTHING you could possibly need into that bag.
  • You are a woman.
  • You are a woman who prefers variety in her attire.
  • Also, you have impossibly large feet that require impossibly large shoes that make any size suitcase look impossibly small.

The conundrum? What do you pack? And, how the heck do you even begin?

Having spent the last few years traveling for bursts of 3-4 days every 3-4 weeks, one would think that I’ve streamlined my packing repertoire. That I’ve made it an exact science. This is not the case as is evidenced here.

I over-pack. I like to over-pack. I like to over-pack, because I like to have options. I like to have options because, well, who doesn’t like to have options? Plus, I grew up in NW Ohio, where the only thing more predictable than unpredictable weather patterns is how individuals spend their Saturday afternoons in the fall (Ohio State University football, anyone?).

And, now, I need to pack for 12 days for an equally unpredictable weather forecast, knowing that I’ll be walking everywhere and nonstop. Which means I have to think more about comfort than fashion. And practicality versus trend. Plus, what will fit in one suitcase. Next to my one pair of shoes.

Sigh.

Good thing I’m a sneakers-and-jeans-kind-of girl. Just give me a camera, and I’ll be able to skip having “TOURIST” tattooed on my forehead.

Hooray, traveling! Boo, packing!

Tagged ,

One thought on “One bag only; must fit entire life

  1. Jason says:

    12 days? 1 pair of shoes? Normal-sized feet? Solution: Asics on your feet, with flip flops in your suitcase.

    – the Fashion Doctor

Leave a Reply

