More than granola

Who knew that one day I'd make granola bars from scratch? Tissue, Mom?

OK, so I love granola. Also, I love granola bars. In college, my roommate Erin subsisted on Quaker Oats Chewy Granola Bars. All varieties. I suspect she still does.

Husband recently scored a copy of Food & Drink magazine, courtesy of LCBO, and it came with a Sobeys supplement. LCBO (Liquor Control Board of Ontario) is Ontario’s scam government-owned liquor chain. Sobeys is a Canadian grocer and one at which I rarely shop. Because, there are other choices closer.

However, its magazine, Inspired, is quite nice, and I came across a recipe in the Fall 2010 issue (pg. 35) that I had to try: Chocolate & Cherry Granola Bars.

Maybe you should try it, too.

Chocolate & Cherry Granola Bars

2/3 c. liquid honey
2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2 Tbsp. brown sugar
2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 c. quick oats
1/2 c. pecans, chopped
1/2 c. almonds, chopped
1/2 c. dried cherries, roughly chopped
1/2 c. dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F and line an 8-inch square cake pan with two criss-crossing pieces of parchment paper that overhang the pan slightly to create handles; set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk honey, butter, brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and salt until smooth. Fold in remaining ingredients, mixing well to coat evenly.

Press mixture firmly into prepared pan and bake on the centre rack for 22 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool before lifting from pan with paper handles. Cut into 18 bars and serve or store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a week.

Happy snacking!

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “More than granola

  1. Mom says:

    sniff! That’s my girl.

  2. kaimoana says:

    I am absolutely making these. Yum yum yum. I wish I was eating them right this moment.

  3. Erin says:

    I do still indulge in a few a day…but only chocolate chip, s’mores, and chocolate chip peanut butter. Maybe other’s in a pinch, but never raisins.

Leave a Reply

