Pumpkin season is here

Well hello, Pumpkin, Cranberry & Pecan Loaf. Let me introduce you to my belly.

OK, I admit it; I’ve been on a bit of a baking spree. Granola. Granola bars. And now, pumpkin bread.

Nothing says “autumn” like pumpkins. Pumpkin cookies. Pumpkin pie. Pumpkin Spice Lattes. You can’t really go wrong. So, when I spied a Pumpkin, Cranberry & Pecan Loaf in Sobeys’ Fall 2010 Inspired (pg. 35), I felt inspired.

I hope you do, too.

Pumpkin, Cranberry & Pecan Loaf

1 c. dried cranberries
1/2 c. unsalted butter, room temperature
1 c. brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 c. canned pumpkin puree (not pumpkin-pie filling)
2 c. all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp. ground cinnamon
1 1/2 Tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. pecan pieces, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a small bowl, cover cranberries with warm water; set aside. Grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan well; set aside.

Using an electric mixer, cream the butter and brown sugar at medium speed until light. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Mix in the pumpkin. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, ginger and salt. Carefully add dry ingredients with mixer on low, just until blended. Add nuts and well-drained cranberries, mixing until just distributed.

Spread batter evenly in loaf pan and bake on centre rack for 60 to 65 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean. Let cool 10 minutes in the pan then remove loaf and cool completely. Slice and serve or wrap in plastic wrap and store up to 5 days.

I substituted whole-wheat flour for all-purpose flour. This can be a bit of a gamble when it comes to baking breads. However, I had much success. I think next time I’ll substitute unsweetened applesauce for butter and see how that goes. Regardless, be sure to pay attention to the baking time. My loaf was done after 57 minutes.

Thank you, Sobeys, for another fabulous recipe! Happy autumn, everyone!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Pumpkin season is here

  1. Mrs Joggin Unit says:

    Jill – From my life of cooking for a small monster with milk and egg allergies, I have read and learned that you can exchange 1/4 c. applesauce for 1 egg. I’m not sure about the butter exchange formula with applesauce.

    For the butter exchange, you may be better off trying a yogurt based spread or a soybased maragarine subsitute with no transfat. Crisco make one in the States that is very tasty.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

