Hi-ho, hi-ho, it’s off to work I go!

Hello, brake lights, my newest and most-oft-seen companions!

I started a new job yesterday, working for a small, Christian nonprofit just south of the city. And, that’s really all the more I’ll say about that, because I’m not one to blog about work-related things.

However, I’m more than happy to chat with you about the commute. Because, it’s awesome. Awesome in a ridiculous sort of way.

I drive approximately 31 kilometers door-to-door. That’s the equivalent of 19.3 miles. Seventeen of those miles are on the highway. The three-to-four-lane-sort-of highway. Which means, in theory, that my drive to and from work takes 40 minutes round-trip.

Sounds fabulous, eh? Well, of course it does. Most theories do.

In reality, it takes me 35 to 40 minutes to get to work and 50 to 60 minutes to get home. This is because every last person living near me also drives in the same directions to and from work, creating massive traffic snarls and delays. And happy drivers. Lots of happy, happy drivers.

I realize two days is probably too soon to comment on the commute, but that driving was done in perfect weather conditions. No misting. No pouring. No snowflakes. No blizzards. Which means I have much to look forward to in the approaching winter months. Much indeed.

I’m now looking back on my two-lane, NW Ohio-driving experiences with fondness. Fondness and lamentation.

Good thing I’m enjoying the job.

On to Day Three.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Hi-ho, hi-ho, it’s off to work I go!

  1. kaimoana says:

    Can I ask what sort of position you do for work? (Bad grammar, ignore that) I’m always curious about other people’s jobs.

    I have the same sort of commute to uni, but I live close to the city and head out, so I’m always going the opposite direction to the worst of the traffic.

    • jilladuling says:

      I work in communications. And, I was spoiled with my last commute, which was in a rural area. Far more traffic here. Although, fewer farm implements. My husband drives away from the city, too, and is very appreciative of his commute.

Leave a Reply

