I heart rice krispie treats

I love rice krispie treats. I love the rice. I love the krispie. I love the treats.

What I do not love is that they’re about as nutritional as eating sugar cubes.

Enter Laura of Heavenly Homemakers. She has a recipe for Healthy(er) Rice Crispy Treats. The ingredient list? Peanut butter, honey, vanilla extract and crispy rice cereal.

That’s about as basic and non-sugar-filled as you can get.

I whipped up a batch today and substituted an off-brand of whole-wheat Chex cereal for the crispy rice cereal. Why not have my treat and fiber, too?

The result? Delish!

Want more delicious recipes? Check out Laura’s site.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “I heart rice krispie treats

  1. Thanks for this. I also heart rice krispies and I’ll def be making these as a Saturday treat (actually they might become an any-day-ending-in-y treat)

  2. Jennie says:

    looks tasty! I always mix a spoonful of peanut butter in with my RKT and sometimes do half RK and half cornflakes – with the spoonful of peanut butter, of course. Also yummy! I’ll try this recipe though.

Leave a Reply

